1.

It lingers with me every day
As hours slowly drip away,
In an empty space I find myself;
A dusty book left on a shelf,
No matter where I dare to go
Its shadow covers me, I know,
And smiles may dance across my face
But inside is a lonely space,
I try to live and play my part
It stops me dead, I cannot start,
It wears me out, why must I try
I lay back staring at the sky,
The sound of people all around
My silence screams back, so profound,
I walk the streets until I’m tired
My lust for hope too soon expired,
And if I join in I feel wrong
Square peg, round hole, won’t belong,
I wake up early to seize the day
But end up sleeping it away
Seems no one else shall come undone
But I know my place, for I am 1.

Leave a Reply

