What if?

What if I never know of a love, what if that story’s untold,
Will I stay young in my heart all my years; will my heart never grow old?

What if I never know of a love, what if that path isn’t crossed,
Will I remain in one place all my life; will I stay stranded and lost?

What if I never know of a love, what if my lips are not kissed,
Will I just cry until night becomes day, will I just weep for what’s missed?

What if I never know of a love, what if my hand isn’t held,
Will I fall over; unsteady and weak, the loneliest place I have dwelled,

What if I never know of a love, what if I die here alone,
Will you not hear if I should disappear, and be found when I’m nothing but bone?

What if I never know of a love, what if my life is just me,
Then I must accept that my hand has been dealt and my caged heart can maybe be free.

Leave a Reply

